RI Permit Practice Tets

Based on the 2022 RI DMV Manual

Permit Practice Tests (360 questions)

Rhode Island Permit Test FAQ

Applying for Your RI Permit

When can I apply for a learner's permit in Rhode Island?

You can apply for a Learner’s Permit in Rhode Island at 16 years of age.

What are the requirements to get my learner's permit?

You must complete a mandatory 33-hour driver education program and pass a written knowledge test to receive your Learner’s Permit. The limited instruction permit will be valid for one year. Once you receive your permit and begin practicing driving, you must have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old or older and who has had a driver license for at least five years seated in the front seat with you at all times.

How many questions are on the Rhode Island permit test?

The test has 50 questions.

How many questions must I answer correctly to pass?

You must answer at least 40 questions correctly to pass.

How should I prepare for the Rhode Island permit test?

To ensure you receive your Learner’s Permit as fast as possible, we encourage you to study for the test. One simple but very effective way to study is to complete online practice exams that feature real sample questions from the test. To test your current driving knowledge click on the following link to take a Rhode Island practice permit test.

Where do I take the Rhode Island permit test?

The Rhode Island Department of Revenue’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) licenses drivers in the state. Visit http://www.dmv.ri.gov/ to find an office located near you.

How much does the Rhode Island permit test cost?

There is an $11.50 permit fee.

What can I expect on test day?

You will need to pass the written exam after your driver’s education course. Be sure to bring proof of identity, age and residency along with a driver education completion certificate when you go to get your Learner’s Permit. You will also need to have the parent/guardian signature notarized on your application or the parent or guardian will need to accompany you to the driver license facility.

The smallest state in the nation boasts some of the most jaw-dropping landscapes. Drive up close to timeless mansions along Newport’s Ocean Drive. Enjoy a tour of Fort Adams and gaze at stunning ocean views along Cliff Walk. Don’t forget to pack your driver’s license before you set off to enjoy Rhode Island’s many wonders! The state of Rhode Island requires applicants to be at least 16 years old. Securing your learners permit or drivers license begins with preparing for the state written exam. Often referred to as the Rhode Island permit test, this exam will test your knowledge of the rules of the road including state traffic laws, emergency driving situations, road sign identification, and lane markings. Preparation begins with becoming familiar with the information found in the Rhode Island Driver’s handbook. Test your knowledge with our Rhode Island Permit Practice Tests. Each practice test includes multiple choice questions focused on various chapters found in the handbook. Choose a practice test to get started.

RI Driver Manuals

The latest official RI Driver manuals